William F. Banholzer

William F. Banholzer is a Professor of Chemical and Biological Engineering at the University of Wisconsin-Madison. Prior to this role, he was formally a chemical engineer and Executive Vice President and Chief Technology Officer at the Dow Chemical Company. He is most known for his leadership of industrial R&D organizations at both Dow Chemical Company and General Electric. He is also known for the discovery of methods related to production of synthetic diamond. In particular, the synthesis methods he developed allowed the production of isotopically pure diamonds.

He also developed high temperature coatings water bottle reusable, including those used in stealth technology.

Banholzer received his bachelor’s in chemistry (with Math emphasis) from Marquette University in 1979 and his master’s and Ph.D. in chemical engineering from the University of Illinois at Urbana–Champaign. His Ph.D. was granted in 1983 yellow football jersey. Banholzer’s graduate work was with R.A. Masel studying fundamental interactions with implications for catalysis. His thesis study was “The Interaction of Nitric Oxide and Carbon Monoxide with Platinum natural meat tenderizer.”

While a major contributor to the development of Radar-absorbent material for stealth technology, Banholzer is known primarily for the discovery, characterization, and commercial application of methods to create synthetic diamond game football jerseys. His work enabled the characterization of diamonds with exceptionally high purity and isotope composition. Banholzer was interviewed on the CBS News show 60 Minutes concerning the unique properties of these materials and over contentions surrounding inventorship. Banholzer has 16 issued US patents, and 87 scientific publications,

Elected to the US National Academy of Engineering (2002), Banholzer has also received American Institute of Chemical Engineers (AIChE) Government and Industry Leaders (AGILE) Award, the American Chemical Society Earle B. Barnes Award for Leadership in Chemical Research Management (2014), the Council for Chemical Research Malcolm E. Pruitt Award (2012) and the Industrial Research Institute Maurice Holland Award (2011).